Lessons Learned From Visiting Jersey Shore


The boyfriend and I went to Jersey Shore this weekend.  We went to a “fine dining” restaurant and something happened there that made me realize 2 things.  The maitre d’ seated us at the center of a restaurant with wall-to-wall floor-to-ceiling windows.  I was not happy.  I wanted to sit by the window with the ocean view.  I asked and she bitchily refused saying it was a table for 5-6 people, not 2.  Fine.  We sat down and ordered when a table for 2 opened up by the window.  We asked our friendly waitress if we could change tables; she kindly accommodated even though we would be at a different section and she would lose a tip from us.

HA to that nasty maitre d’ who refused to seat us there.  When we were finally situated at our new table, it wasn’t as nice as I thought it would be.  It was dark outside so we couldn’t see anything but our own reflections and our new waiter was phlegmatic at best.  Lesson: the grass is always greener on the other side, but when you get there, you realize it’s the same grass.  In our case, we not only realize the grass is not greener there, but we actually wanted to get our old table back (we did not ask, that would be too rude) with the friendly waitress.  After all that effort to switch over to the “better” table, we didn’t really care for it.  So, don’t think that other people always have it better.  The reality is that may not be what you thought or wanted.

The second thing I realized is more of a question.  I like to believe that the higher source (whatever your faith) IS looking out for you.  We are always told that you should always at least ask for what you want because if you don’t ask, then you won’t get it.  Taking that lesson to heart, I asked for the table by the window.  When we didn’t get the table the first time we asked for it, I thought it was unfair, and that the heavens must be scheming against me, etc.  Basically, being a big baby.  I’m not proud about that.  When I got the table the second time I asked, I realized it wasn’t what I expected and I didn’t want it anymore.  Lesson So the question is: do you ask for what you want or do you let fate take its course because ultimately, things work out for the best?

I am conflicted about that one.  What do you think?

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

Leave a Reply

