An SOS for SMS


I recently spoke to a male friend of mine about his forays in the dating world.  He had gone out previously with a girl who he was interested in, but instead of following up with a telephone call, he sent her a text message consisting of nine characters: whats up?  She replied that she was going abroad on vacation but she would call when she got back into town.  One vacation and many days later, no further communications were had between them.

While I feel for my friend, I can’t say I’m surprised.  One of my pet peeves in dating these days is text messaging.  While I’m not against it as a supplemental aid, I don’t believe it should be the sole source of communication in dating.  Personally, and maybe its the Type A in my blood, when a guy sends me a text that contains nothing more than “hey” or “what’s up?,” I don’t consider it anything more than those people who greet you with the standard “how are you?” as they continue walking by.  No response is necessary.  And in fact, if I was on the fence with the guy to begin with, this does not win any points for a subsequent date.  Hey, if you really want to know what’s going on with me, give me a call!

Of course, when I pointed this out to my friend, he denied any sort of laziness or intention to slight the other person.  As he puts it, “the only person I call is my mom.”

True as that may be, its weak.  It does not make me swoon.  It does not make my heart go pitter patter.

As a girl, I like a phone call.  I don’t mean you need to call me so we can gossip for hours on end, because that definitely won’t do anything for me, but a short phone call indicates to me that you aren’t messaging me because you’re waiting in line somewhere or, and I don’t even want to think about it, you’re sitting in a bathroom stall.  Its a statement that says, “you are more than a passing thought to me” — and thats lovely to think about.

Like F. Scott Fitzgerald said, “if personality is an unbroken series of successful gestures, then there was something gorgeous about him, some heightened sensitivity to the promises of life…”  Don’t you want that cute girl to think that about you?

Comments
One Response to “An SOS for SMS”
  1. Yeah, calling is best though from past experiences, I find that quite a lot of women aren’t comfortable talking on the phone with someone that they’ve just me. At times, they are more responsive to text messages. But hey, everyone is different.

Leave a Reply

