It’s A Girl-Eat-Girl Dating World


For those who are still engulfed in the dating scene, we all know that it is a dog-eat-dog world out there.  Very few people will have your back; you basically have to fend for yourself.  Even your “girls” might not have your back.  As a matter of fact, your girls may be your nemesis in this arena.  Yes, girls can be catty, but when it comes to love, there’s a new level of ugliness.

To begin, I would like to note one observation; there are WAY more single females than single males.  It seems like every guy you meet is already taken / marked by a really smart gal somewhere, while every girl you meet is also single.  So, how could the ratio of single males and single females be so out of balance?  Or is it?  According to Wikipedia, approximately 51% of the population ages 0-19 are males, while approximately 49.6% of the population ages 20-64 are males.  That means for every single female, there should be one single male, but those in the dating scene will tell you otherwise.  I, for one have more single female friends than single male friends, and I am sure the same goes for other girls looking for that special someone.

The reason?  Plan B, C, and D.  There are girls out there who will only introduce their single female friends to other female friends; rarely do they introduce you to single, eligible bachelors.  They want to save it for themselves, in case their current relationship fails or in case they don’t find Mr. Perfect by a certain age, they have someone to fall back on.  It’s a pure insurance plan.  What does this mean for you?  Not to rely on anyone, but yourself.  If you see someone you like, you need to make a move.  Don’t expect someone to push them your way.  After all, it’s a girl-eat-girl world out there, and it’s scary.

Why can’t we share?  If we share, we can all be dating.  Isn’t that better than all of us being miserable and single, together?

Comments
5 Responses to “It’s A Girl-Eat-Girl Dating World”
  1. Melody Waters says:

    I think this may be a New York phenomenon. I saw a story a while back about how there were more single women than single men in New York. This might be because women like to move here more than men do.

    Your anecdotal observation about having more female single friends might have something to do with the fact that you are female no? Do you have more female friends in general?

  2. pillowchats says:

    I actually have more male friends, it just happens that they are either attached, engaged or married.

    I agree with you that it may be the case in larger cities.

  3. sendtoharvey says:

    that’s hilarious…that means i could have been introduced to girls when i was single…jeez, i got screwed over, how sneaky of my female friends to keep me on deck.

  4. Juslitome says:

    Haha, it’s true! Not that I endorse this kind of thinking, but my friends have informed me that any guy they introduce to other girls, most likely they are second-rate, or subpar (which is why they are even introducing them in the first place).

    Now I consider myself a pretty generous soul. If I feel like a guy is worthy of my friends, I’d be more than happy to make the introduction. Part of the problem with this, though. is that I rarely think my guy friends are good for my friends. Either there’s some attribute to them that’s not so encouraging, or they’re not in the mood to settle down (always the worst; matchmakers are always to blame for any unhappy romances).

    Last of all, sometimes girls DO have a selfish ulterior motive for safekeeping their male friends. I know that if I’m in a relationship with a guy, I’d probably have no reason to like another. In the event that I do, however, I wouldn’t want to see that guy taken up by my friend. It’d just be a sore eye.

    It’s all very selfish sometimes. I wish we’re schooled more in the principle of communism when it comes to dating. Everyone has equal share, haha.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] went through with the setup.  I mean, it’s really no different from asking my friends to set me up with someone, anyone (hmm, is that a sign of desperation?) they know who was single and looking. […]



Leave a Reply

